The hard choice


In artificial intelligence, “search” and “decision-making” happen to be two very important problems. Both eventually reduce to picking a good/best option from the given set of options.

Actually the reason why human beings are supposed to be intelligent creatures is because they can make that best/good/optimal choice. Our survival has depended on our ability to make choices. However problem with us is that often we confront a situation when we know what is the best choice but can’t make that choice.

Our mind knows what is the best choice and it knows that it can’t make that choice. This becomes on problem that can lead deepest sorrows of your life. The reason for agony is not really the choice made but the fact that we could not make the desired choice. Time goes on and situations change but that incompleteness remains within.

We procrastinate the final decision thinking time will get us out of the dilemma and decision-making eventually gets even more tougher. More time you take more wounds it inflicts on your state of mind. ultimately you decide to live with those wounds.

What should a wise man do in such cases? I searched for answers. I am not sure if I have got a good solution. I guess everyone has to face the situation when he is forced to make a choice he never wanted to make. I dont have any wise man around me to help me find a solution but I suppose such situation build strength of character. Anything that builds character is ought to bring misery says Calvin.

But then I have this beautiful words from Alfred, Bruce Wayne’s butler. I have liked this character the most in the whole movie. His dialogs have added a contemplative depth to both the batman movie.

Bruce Wayne: People are dying, Alfred. What would you have me do?
Alfred Pennyworth: Endure, Master Wayne. Take it. They’ll hate you for it, but that’s the point of Batman, he can be the outcast. He can make the choice that no one else can make, the right choice.
Bruce Wayne: Well today I found out what Batman can’t do. He can’t endure this. Today you get to say “I told you so.”
Alfred Pennyworth: Today, I don’t want to.
[pauses for several moments]
Alfred Pennyworth: But I did bloody tell you.

I am not the batman.

Leave a Reply

