Mahashivratri and my upavas


Even though I am an idolater, my religious practices are very limited. I have absolutely no restriction on my food habits. But once a year, every mahashivratri I observe fasting. That too without even a drop of water.

I was in second year engineering and we had a lady lecturer. She was probably the only lecturer in my engineering career for whom I had any respect. She taught us Object oriented programming.

We always searched excuses to bunk classes I among all loved to motivate students to boycott classes. Only exception were her classes.

That year Mahashivratri was on saturday. Being a government college we had a holiday on Saturday. Neverthless Ma’am insisted that she will take an extra lecture on Saturday.

Students protested vehemently. Many shouted that they had upavas so they wont have energy to come. Finally she conceded.  And while leaving the class she looked at me and asked “Do you really going to observe fast?”

I was a bit confused but in the moment of enthusiasm I said “Yes! Ma’am without even water”. She smiled and said “Thats great, I am too observing nirjali (without even water) upavaas. I thought I would still manage to teach, but if you guys wont have energy I guess I should not trouble you”.

I actually had no plans to observe the fast but I did that year. That too without even drop of water but it feels good.

Some thing dont have logic in them, some things can not be reasoned, some things have a minimal cost, but then they are still very valuable. I know one girl who still keep her childhood clothe doll safely in her Almira. She says that her connection with her childhood. A doll thats almost half perished.

Well, I guess I have my own unique style of keeping connections with past.

[Note: This should be treated as a short story and as a work of fiction]

2 thoughts on “Mahashivratri and my upavas

  1. “Some thing dont have logic in them, some things can not be reasoned, some things have a minimal cost, but then they are still very valuable.” .. Nice said Akshar. Such things can not be purchased either .. I guess. : )

Leave a Reply

