Sad news


This news really saddened me.

A final year IIT-M student committed suicide in his hostel on Wednesday at 2.45pm. Nitin Kumar Reddy, a mechanical engineering student, ended his life minutes after he was told that he would not be able to pass out along with his batchmates this May. Three months ago, another student of the same department killed himself for the same reason.

CHENNAI: A final year IIT-M student committed suicide in his hostel on Wednesday at 2.45pm. Nitin Kumar Reddy, a mechanical engineering student, ended his life minutes after he was told that he would not be able to pass out along with his batchmates this May. Three months ago, another student of the same department killed himself for the same reason.According to his batchmates, Nitin, 22, was upset after the head of the department Venkateshan SP told him that his course has been extended by six months when he went to submit the abstract for his project. Nitin emailed his father Lakshmana Murthy Reddy, a DRDO official working in Delhi, saying that he was going to end his life as he was scared that the course extension might ruin the job he was offered by a software company. He also called his friend in Bangalore to inform her about his decision. By the time his parents and friend could alert his batch mates, Nitin had hung himself from the ceiling fan inside his hostel room no 463 with the bedspread. IIT-M officials refused to speak. Adyar Deputy Commissioner V Sithanan said they were waiting for his parents to come. A case of suicide has been registered.

Now, the people who are generally critical of IITs will blame it on their meritocracy while others will try to show many examples where people dropped out of university and went ahead to become billionaires.The truth might be that some people are inherently suicidal. They are psychologically programmed that way.
However if we look around I increasingly notice that the young children are more and more scared of failures. I see many of my friends completely incapable of making even small decisions. I see many people taking leave in their office because their child is answering some exam. I feeling like laughing out loud and ridiculing these parents.
It is so unfortunate that we underestimate our children’s ability to build their own life. What the hell happened to these parents ? Haven’t they read Alice in wonderland, Tom Sayer, Huckleberry Finn and other classics? Failure need not be a stepping stone to success. The real stepping stone to success is ability to get out of the herd.Yes, when you get out of the herd you are on a path that is less traveled and hence there are chances that you might stray, but it is perfectly okay to stray and as a society we should stop looking at these people as failures. And even if people do call them failures these people should not believe them.
I feel we should stop giving the undue importance we are giving to education as such. Our government has completely screwed up every aspect of education. Due to lack of supply the demand has gone up abruptly while the monopoly has resulted into lack of quality. Look at our roads which are overcrowded and in a state of constant jam. Our education system is EXACTLY like that. It is just that we don’t notice it in our life.
As soon as I entered IIT, I have taken several lessons in failure. In my first semester I enrolled for a subject called “Introduction to Probability and Linear Algebra”. I put extraordinary amount of efforts into it only to get a CC grade. Soon I realized that despite working on it so much, I have actually began to hate probability which I actually liked before.  I realized that  I failed to invest sufficient time in other things in my life which would have resulted into better returns. I changed my strategy.
I made a list of stuff that is important to me. I enrolled for courses that appealed to me and I learned from them only that part that amused me. I decided that I will spend time on them only proportional to their priority in my list of things to do. And of course I dint give a damn to the grades.I am not sure if all that is going to make me richer or smarter, it is just that I find happiness in it and I feel that I am building a better future for myself.
What upset me about the students suicide was that he ended his life only because of a fucking job. A job which he himself would have left sooner or later. Nothing hanged on the balance of whether he got that job or not in some tinpot body shopping company. His priorities were simply misplaced, unlikely that he himself prioritized it but it must be his parents who must have imbibed on him that a fucking job is the sole objective of the education he is receiving. May his should RIP and let others learn some lessons.
Postscript: I came across this beautiful movie. Here is a small clip from the movie. Bollywood does not make such movies any more.
4 thoughts on “Sad news

  1. Very nicely put!!

    loved this part: “And of course I dint give a damn to the grades.I am not sure if all that is going to make me richer or smarter, it is just that I find happiness in it and I feel that I am building a better future for myself..”

Leave a Reply

