For once I agree with Chetan Bhagat


Chetan Bhagat had tweeted last year during mother’s day that “coke can belongs to the person who put the coin in the vending machine and not to the vending machine itself.”. A lot of feminist and other people had targeted him for this engineering-hostel type joke.

This year on the women’s day he seems to have absolved himself of that sin.

My mother worked for 40 years. My wife is the COO at an international bank. It makes me proud. She doesn’t make phulkas for me. We outsource that work to our help, and it doesn’t really bother me. If my wife had spent her life in the kitchen, it would have bothered me more.

It rings true. It is sad that we always attach virtue to a housewife who spends her life cooking for her family no matter what is her age. We pride in the fact that our mothers do all the daily household work. It is something to be ashamed of. Stuff like cooking is a very less productive work in this modern world. Our educated wives and mothers should spend their time doing lot more productive and useful stuff. Work like cooking should be outsourced to less unfortunate people.

 

Leave a Reply

